Bacon Wrapped Scallops

Note: Originally made Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Like I’ve talked about before, seafood is one of my favorite “types” of food to cook. I have cooked everything from shrimp and salmon to lobster and tilapia; however, I had never tried to cook scallops at home.

Well, some of the ladies were coming over for a pot-luck summer BBQ at my house, and I decided that I would be risky and trying tackling a dish based around scallops. (I cannot say that I would recommend trying a dish you have never cooked before in this situation, but I also knew that there would be enough food around if my dish did not turn out well enough to serve.)

Knowing that everything is best when wrapped in bacon, I knew that I would take my first shoot at scallops would involve wrapping them with bacon.

I really love how these scallops turned out and so did everyone else at the BBQ. These were the first and only item to be completely devoured! As a runner who seems to thrive off of a pre-race meal based off of protein instead of carbs, these scallops become a staple in our household!

Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
3/4 Cup Maple Syrup
1/4 Cup Low-Sodium Soy Sauce
12 Large Sea Scallops
12 Large Pieces of Bacon
2+ Tbsp. Brown Sugar

Directions:
Mix the maple syrup and the low-sodium soy sauce together and stir well. After washing and cleaning the scallops add them to the marinade. Cover and marinade in the fridge for 30-60 minutes. (Do not marinade the scallops any longer than 60 minutes or the acid in the soy sauce will begin to cook the scallops!)

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with tin foil. Arrange the bacon on the baking sheet so the pieces are not touching and then partial cook the bacon until it is light brown and flexible, about 9-12 minutes. Drain all the grease off the baking sheet.

Wrap each scallop with one piece of bacon, and secure it with a toothpick. Sprinkle the top of the scallop with brown sugar.

Bake the scallops until the bacon is fully cooked, about 10-15 minutes, turning once.

Source: Meghan’s Original

Leave a Reply

