Lemon-Peppered Tilapia with Creamed Corn

This past weekend I had my last long run (15 miles) before my upcoming half marathon on October 30th. Because we’re training and running as a family I decided to go spend Friday night as my parent’s house so we could all do our long runs together Saturday morning. Being at my parent’s house is great for the company; however, to someone who needs “technology” it is like walking back into the stone age since they have no internet and cell phone signal is sparse!

Mom must have been searching for something in a magazine, because she had about 20-30 magazines spread out all over the place. Seeing I was board mindless I picked up an older copy of Every Day with Rachel Ray and started flipping through it. As I was flipping, on the cover of a small three page insert was this recipe for Herb Grilled Tilapia over a bed of Sweet Creamed Corn. Hum, I thought immediately! Tilapia is literally my FAVORITE fish to make and eat and I have never thought of combining it with creamed corn!

So, as I was walking through the supermarket Sunday evening I noticed that Tilapia was sale and I knew exactly what I was going to do with it! I didn’t have the exact recipe (if any) that was in the insert; so I cooked the Tilapia my favorite way and used a new creamed corn recipe I had been wanting to try!

The combination turned out great! The tang and bite from the lemon-peppered fish with the sweetness of the corn work extremely well together! Besides making these two dishes together, you could separate them and both would work well with tons of other sides or main dishes! Enjoy!!

Lemon-Peppered Tilapia with Creamed Corn
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
2 Tilapia Fillets (cleaned and dried)
Lemon Pepper Seasoning
Olive Oil Baking Spray

For the Creamed Corn:
1 Bag Frozen Sweet Corn
2 Tablespoons Sugar
1 1/2 Tablespoon Flour
1 1/4 Cup Heavy Cream
4 Tablespoons Butter
Salt
Pepper

Directions:
For the creamed corn: In a microwave safe bowl, heat 2 cups of the sweet corn for 1 minute on high in the microwave. In a food processor, puree the 2 cups of heated corn. In a large or medium sized stock pot add the pureed corn, the remaining whole kernelled corn, the sugar, flour, heavy cream and the butter. Over medium heat bring the mixture to a light simmer while stirring. Turn the heat down to medium-low and simmer for 25 minutes, stirring the mixture often.

For the tilapia: Heat a medium sized sauté pan over medium heat until hot. Lightly spray the pan with the olive oil baking spray. Lay the tilapia in the pan (you should heat the fish sizzle), and lightly sprinkle with the lemon pepper seasoning. Cook the tilapia for 3-5 minutes per side, depending on the size of the fillets.

Source: Original dish inspired by Every Day with Rachel Ray, Tilapia is Meghan’s Original and Creamed Corn adapted from The Neely’s

Leave a Reply

