Chicken n’ Broccoli Casserole

My Mom and I waiting for the start of our first marathon together, the Marine Corp Marathon in Washington, D.C. (October 2011)

My Mom was the first person who truly inspired me to learn how to cook. Although I love her death, when I was younger my Mom was never an amazing cook. I clearly remember one night she attempted to make homemade gravy. My poor Dad sacrificed himself on behalf of my sister and I and lovingly choked down two helpings. That evening after dinner my Mom took the gravy out to the barn cats as a “special treat”. Well, a week later the gravy sat in their food bowl completely untouched! I am proud to say since then my Mom has become an amazing cook!!

As I’ve grown up, established my own household, and gotten busy with my own life I sometimes find myself craving a small taste of my childhood. When those moments strike me I pull out my recipe box and sort through the dozens of recipes from my Mom and Grandmother trying to find the perfect one.

This past week as soon as I opened my recipe box I knew instantly what I was going to make. Chicken n’ Broccoli Casserole! This is literally the FAVORITE dish that my Mom used to make as we were growing up. The tender chicken is great but my favorite part is the creamy cheesy sauce. I could make a whole dish of the sauce just to eat without any of the other ingredients, it is just that good!

I hope you and your family enjoy this down-home comfort-food casserole as much as I do!

Chicken n’ Broccoli Casserole
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
2 to 3 pounds of Chicken Breast
Bag Frozen Broccoli Florets (Family Size)
1 Can Water Chestnuts, sliced
1 Can Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 Can Campbell’s Cream of Broccoli Soup
1 Cup Mayonnaise
24 Slices Kraft Singles American Cheese
16 Ounces French’s Fried Onions
Salt
Pepper

Directions:
Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.

Cut the chicken breast into 1/2″ cubes. In a large deep skillet, over medium heat brown the chicken for 3-5 minutes until none of the chicken is visibly pink any longer. In a medium sized mixing bowl mix together the Cream of Mushroom Soup, the Cream of Broccoli Soup, Mayonnaise and salt and pepper to taste. In a 9×13″ casserole dish spread out the broccoli florets, the cooked chicken, and the water chestnuts evenly and cover with half of the sauce mixture, spreading the mixture as even as possible.

Cover the entire casserole with the Kraft Single Cheese in a single layer while slightly over lapping the cheese squares. Evenly spread the remaining the remaining sauce mixture and top with 3/4 of the can of the fried onions.

Cover the casserole with tin foil and bake for 55-60 minutes. Remove the tin foil, top with the remaining fried onions and bake an additional 3-5 minutes or until golden brown.

Allow the casserole to sit for at least 15 minutes prior to serving.

*Note: I really like the sauce so I use 2 cans of Cream of Mushroom Soup, 2 cans Cream of Broccoli Soup and 1 1/2 cups of Mayonnaise.

Source: My Mother

Leave a Reply

