Cafe Rio Shredded Chicken

Recently, with everything going on around the house cooking has become a little bit of a chore. Mark has been on diet and making a fresh meal every night for two has been straining on my brain since I have been trying to keep new dishes in the mix. From my dieting history, I know how boring it can get to eat the same foods over and over again, week after week. The other afternoon as I was sitting around with the dogs, suddenly it struck me that I have not been using my trusty ole’ crock pot like I should be! PERFECT, I thought to myself!! All I would have to do is toss everything into the crock pot, let it cook on its own, and then I would have a few meals worth of chicken for us!

Looking through my options, I decided that the Cafe Rio Shredded Chicken would be perfect! The possibilities are endless once the chicken is done cooking! Mark and I have eaten this chicken in everything from tacos and quesadillas, to topping rice and noodles with it. This recipe is so good that tomorrow we are making a second batch!

Cafe Rio Shredded Chicken
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
4 Pounds chicken breast
1 Cup Italian dressing
1 Tablespoon garlic, minced
1 Packet dry ranch dressing mix
3/4 Cup chicken stock
1 Tablespoon chili powder

Directions:
Spray the bottom and sides of the crock pot with non-stick cooking spray and add the chicken.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, add in the rest of the ingredients and whisk together until blended well. Pour the mixture over the chicken and cook for 3 hours on high or 4-5 hours on low.

Remove the chicken from the mixture, and shred it. Add the shredded chicken back into the mixture and cook an additional 30 minutes.

Source: adapted slightly from Chef In Training

Leave a Reply

