Spicy Southern Green Beans

Last August, Mark and I stopped at Famous Dave’s for lunch one day. Mark had never been there and I absolutely love their BBQ and side dishes. A few weeks later I was sitting around thinking about what I was going to make for dinner during the upcoming week and I had this massive craving for Famous Dave’s green beans! The only issue is, we do not have a Famous Dave’s close to us and I was not about to drive 1.5 hours one way just for green beans. (On a side note, Famous Dave’s is coming to a town near us and we are extremely excited!)

As I went about the day I continued to think about those delicious green beans. How hard could they be? Green beans, bacon and onions. I can surely come up with a recipe that is close and boy did I ever! This is way green beans are meant to be eaten. Now, as a disclaimer, I never said this recipe is a healthy one!!!! I am sure you could tweak some of the ingredients to make it more figure friendly, but since I rarely make these I prefer to indulge in them when I do!

Hope you enjoy these as much as Mark and I do!

Bacon and Onion Green Beans

Spicy Southern Green Beans
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
1-2 Pounds of fresh green beans (with tops and tails cut off)
5 Slices of thick-cut bacon, sliced into 1/4″ strips
1 Medium onions, chopped
Red pepper flakes
1 Tbsp. Garlic, chopped
Salt
4 Tbsp. butter

Directions:
Put the raw green beans into a large stock pot and cover with water. On the stove, over medium-high heat, boil the greens for 8-15 minutes until they are tender. (Note: you want the green beans to be tender, not soggy!) Drain the green beans in a colander and set aside.

In the same stock pot you used to boil the green beans, over medium heat add the bacon and begin to fry the bacon. Fry the bacon until it begins to brown, approximately 5-8 minutes and then add in the onions. Sauté the bacon and onions together for 3-5 minutes until the bacon is cooked and the onions are tender.

Drain the bacon grease from the mixture, allowing about a quarter of the grease to remain in the pot. Add 2 tablespoons of butter and the garlic to the bacon and onions, and allow the mixture to sauté for 1-2 minutes together.

Turn the heat down to low and add the green beans back into the pot along with another 2 tablespoons of butter, a pinch (or two) of red pepper flakes, and salt to taste. Cover the pot and let the green beans to sit for 3-5 minutes before turning off the heat and serving.

Inspired By: Famous Dave’s Green Beans

Leave a Reply

