Loaded Baked Potato Salad

This past Sunday I was honored to co-hosted a Couple’s Bridal Shower for my dear friends Jessica and Brian.

Photo by Darryl Quinton Evans.

Photo by Darryl Quinton Evans.

After years of having a long distance over-seas relationship, next month they will finally get their chance to say “I Do” and become husband and wife!  I am so excited for the two of them to have their “Happily Every Ever” and start their lives together!

For a month I had been jotting down ideas for the menu.  My goal was to have a menu which was simple, yet delicious.  I also wanted to try and use bacon as much as possible.  Why?  Well both Jessica and Brian share a love of bacon!  Okay, okay, okay…. I am guilty of loving bacon just as much as they do!   After sifting through ideas, we settled on having gourmet sandwiches with sides such as Bacon & Cheddar Deviled Egg Salad, Garlic Humus, and Potato Salad; along with White Chocolate Truffle Cupcakes and a Chocolate Sour Cream Bunt Cake for dessert.  The more I thought about potato salad, the more I wondered how I could “spice up” traditional potato salad and use bacon.  Then I recalled a dinner Mark and I had with them a month ago, and I thought about this amazing loaded baked potato Jessica had eaten.  Suddenly it hit me!  Why not make a loaded baked potato but as a potato salad.

I cannot even come close to describing how amazing this potato salad was!  There was not a drop leftover at the end of the bridal shower, and I had dozens of request for the recipe   I cannot wait until I have an reason to make it, it is that delicious.  I suggest serving this potato salad warm or at room temperature; however, I am sure it would be just as good cold!

(Note: This recipe serves approximately 15-20 people, so just cut it in half if you need to serve fewer people. I also prefer to leave most of the skins on the potatoes as it gave a real “loaded baked potato” taste.)

Loaded Baked Potato Salad

Loaded Baked Potato Salad
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
4 pounds Russet Potatoes (peeled if preferred)
1 1/2 cup Mayonnaise
1 cup Sour Cream
2 cups Shredded Cheddar Cheese
1/2 cup Freshly Chopped Chives
1 pound Thick Cut Bacon, cooked and crumbled
Salt
Black Pepper

Directions:
Cube the potatoes into 1/2″ cubes and place into a large pot. Cover the potatoes with water, and on the stove bring the pot to a boil. Boil the potatoes until they are fork tender, which will take approximately 15-20 minutes. (You need to keep an eye on the potatoes. If you cook them too long you will end up with more of a mashed potato consistency when you mix them.)

When the potatoes are ready, drain them in a colander and allow them to cool slightly, about 5-10 minutes. (Allow the potatoes to cool completely if you plan to serve the salad cold!)

Put the slightly cooled potatoes into a large mixing bowl. Add the mayonnaise, sour cream, cheddar cheese, chives and bacon to the top of the potatoes. With a spatula, gently fold the mixture until the potatoes are well coated. Add salt and pepper to taste.

You can save a small bit of the bacon, cheddar cheese, and chives to sprinkle on the top if you desire!

Inspired by: Jessica’s loaded baked potato at dinner!

Leave a Reply

