Honey-Chipotle Turkey Meatballs

Lately my husband has been doing amazingly well on his diet and I am so proud of him! As the chef in the house, helping him with his weight loss goals have not been easy. I am a meat loving-butter loving chef and I just cannot imagine living off of vegetables and low calorie seafood for months. For the first few weeks of his diet we ate nothing but grilled chicken and steamed vegetables. Talk about boring! I was to the point where if I had to eat another bite of chicken, I was going to scream!

My husband and I have very different dietary needs. He wants a low calorie diet with lots of protein and good carbs, while I could care less about my calories! Give me an extremely high protein-low carb-high fat diet and I am in heaven! I quickly realized if I were ever going to be successful in cooking for the both of us I needed to find ways to make dishes that would work for us both. Anyone who cooks for themselves or their families, you know how hard it can be to find new and interesting ideas that can fit the dietary needs of everyone in the family.

The other evening I came across the recipe for these Honey-Chipotle Turkey Meatballs, and knew they would be perfect! Ground turkey is extremely healthy and is also high in protein! My biggest fear was the meatballs could turn out dry, since ground turkey has a tendency to dry out easily when cooked. Oh my goodness, these meatball were heavenly! They were moist and tender, and the glaze gave them the perfect amount of heat while not burning your mouth to death! They were better (okay, almost better) than any kind of beef meatball I have ever made!

Photo by MarthaStewart.com.

Photo by MarthaStewart.com.

Honey-Chipotle Turkey Meatballs
Printer Friendly Version

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds Ground Turkey
1/2 cup Yellow Onion, diced small
3 Garlic Cloves, minced
1/2 teaspoon Kosher Salt
1/2 teaspoon Black Pepper
2 tablespoons Honey
2 tablespoons Chipotle Chilies in Adobe Sauce, chopped
2 teaspoons Apple Cider Vinegar
1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, mix together the ground turkey, onion, garlic, salt and black pepper until combined. Do not over mix the meat! Form the mixture into 16 meatballs.

In a small mixing bowl, stir together the honey, chilies, and vinegar. Set aside.

In a large ovenproof skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the meatball and cook until they are browned on all sides, which will take 10-12 minutes. Transfer the skillet to the preheated oven and bake the meatball for 5 minutes. Remove the skillet from the oven, pour the honey mixture on top of the meatballs and swirl the skillet to evenly distribute the sauce. Bake until the liquid is reduced and the meatball are glazed, which will take 5-10 minutes, swirling the skillet halfway through.

Source: adapted slightly from Martha Stewart.

Leave a Reply

