Shepherds Pie

Well, it has been forever since I last posted! So much has happened I could spend an entire post just on the last year and half. Mark and I welcomed a new addition to our family! Miss Annabeth was born last fall and she has been such a blessing to our family.

Miss Annabeth

Miss Annabeth

Well, I decided to come and post today because I really wanted to share this recipe for Shepherds Pie with you. For years, I was the person who refused to eat Shepherds Pie. Individually I like every ingredient that it takes to make Shepherds Pie; however, every time I saw Shepherds Pie it looked like pig slop. Mark; however, is a huge fan of Shepherds Pie.

I try really hard to make things that Mark likes, specially when I am on the hunt for a new recipe to try at home. This past fall I was on the hunt for a recipe. Something new. Something I had never made before. As I was searching through the hundreds of recipes I have saved in my Pinterest account I kept coming back to this recipe for Shepherds Pie.

The picture alone looked amazing and I was in the mood to try something new. So, I decided to jump in with both feet and make my own Shepherds Pie. As always, I added quite a few of my own tweaks to the recipe to make it “my own” and OMG I could not believe just how good it turned out! We devoured the entire pot in a two day time span.

The original recipe called for making the pies in individual serving dishes; however, a majority of the time I make this I use a large 7 quart cast iron dutch oven and just make one big pot of it. Either way — one big pot or individual serving dishes — works great. (I like the one big pot because it ends up being less dishes to do after dinner is done!!!)

Since then I have made this Shepherds Pie dozens of times throughout the fall and winter. As a note, the leftovers are just as good! Mark and I usually end up fighting over the last little bit of leftovers left.

shepherds-pie

Shepherds Pie

Ingredients:
For the Meat Base:
1 1/2 lbs Ground Beef (you can use Ground Turkey if you want)
1 Large Sweet Onion, chopped
2 cups Carrots, chopped
2 cups Cabbage, chopped
2 cups Celery, chopped
1 Head of Garlic, chopped
1 bag Frozen Peas
2-3 Tbsp Fresh Thyme
1-2 Tbsp Fresh Oregano
2 Tbsp Worcestershire Sauce
1 Tbsp Ketchup
1 Package Concentrated Beef Stock
Salt and Pepper

For the Potatoes:
6 Large Russet Potatoes, skinned, cooked and mashed
3/4 cup Milk
3/4 cup Havarti Cheese, grated
3/4 cup Parmigiano Reggiano Cheese, grated
3/4 cup Sharp Cheddar Cheese, grated

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a large 7 quart dutch oven heat 1 Tablespoons of Olive Oil over medium heat. Add the onions, carrots and celery; and sautee until the carrots begin to soften, about 5 minutes. Add the 1 Tbsp of the garlic and sautee for 1-2 minutes. Add the cabbage and the frozen peas. Season the vegetables with salt and pepper. Sautee the mixture for 2-3 minutes until the cabbage begins to wilt. Transfer the vegetable mixture to a large bowl and set aside.

In a large stock pot over medium-high heat bring the peeled and diced potatoes to a boil. Boil the potatoes for about 10-15 minutes or until they are fork tender. Once done drain the potatoes and put them in a large mixing bowl. (I start the potatoes at the same time I start cooking the vegetables.)

Using the same dutch over, over medium heat add the ground beef to the pan. Brown the meat until cooked. Once the meat is cooked add the remaining garlic and the fresh Thyme to the pan. Cook for 1-2 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat. Stir in the Worcestershire sauce, ketchup and the concentrated beef stock.

Mix the meat mixture with the vegetable mixture and stir until well combined. Spread the meat and vegetable mixture evenly in the bottom of the dutch oven and set aside.

Take the mixing bowl with the potatoes and add in all but 1/2 cup of the cheese and the milk. Mash well until combined.  Spread the potatoes evenly across the meat/vegetable mixture. Garnish the top with the remaining 1/2 cup of grated cheese.

Bake at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes until the sides are bubbling. If the top has not browned while cooking you can use the broiler on high for 1-2 minutes to brown the top of the potatoes. Be careful not to burn the potatoes using the broiler though!

Remove the pot from from the oven and allow to sit for 10 minutes before serving. Try serving with a great side roll like the Cheddar Bay Biscuits!

Source: adapted from STL Cooks

Leave a Reply

